Young Scientists and Researchers should lead India into a developed nation

Young Scientists and Researchers should lead India into a developed nation

Rashtriya Yuva Vaigyanik Manch, a platform created by Vijnana Bharati for Young Scientists, Technocrats and Professional students has conducted its third edition of Young Scientists meet at Presidency University, Kolkata during 17,18 Feb, 2012. Nearly four hundred and fifty scientists and research scholars from all over the country participated in this two day meet.

Acharya P C Ray Young Scientist's Conference Inaugration

This conference has been dedicated to Acharya P C Ray, the father of Indian Chemical Industry.

Acharya P C Ray Young Scientists’ Conference, was inaugurated by His Excellency, Dr. A P J Abdul Kalam. The two day conference was organized by Vivekananda Vijnan Mission, West Bengal state unit of Vijnana Bharati, along with Presidency University and Calcutta University to celebrate 150th birth anniversary of Acharya P C Ray. Shri Janab Abu Nasar Khan Choudhury, Minister, Science & Technology, Govt. of West Bengal graced the occasion as a Special Guest. Prof. Avtar Tulsi, IIT Mumbai, the youngest professor in India delivered the key note address, presided by Padmashri Dr. Vijay Bhatkar, National President, Vijnana Bharati.

Dr. Rakesh Bhandari, Chairman, Variable Energy Cyclotron Centre (VECC); Prof. Siddhartha Roy, Director, IICB, Kolkata; Prof. Kankan Bhattacharya, Director, IACS, Kolkata; Dr. Amalendu Sinha, Director, Central Institute of Mining & Fuel Research, Dhanbad; Dr. Jayram Hazra, Director, National Research Institute of Ayurvedic Drug Development (NRIADD); Shri. G S Rautela, DG, National Council of Science Museums; Shri P S Bhattacharya, MD, Haldia Petrochemicals; Shri. D P Sahastrabudhe, ED, Basin Manager, ONGC; Col. Sabyasachi Bagchi, Chairman, West Bengal Small Industries Development Corporation (WBSIDC) were the Guests-of-Honour.

Swami Atmapriyananda, VC, RK Mission Vivekananda University was the chief guest and Prof. Amita Chatterjee, Ex-VC, Presidency University was the chair-person for valedictory function. Bhatnagar Award winners Dr. Sanghamitra Bandopadhyay, Machine Intelligence Unit, Indian Statistical Institute, Dr. Mitali Mukherjee, Principal Scientist, CSIR- Institute of Genomics & Integrative Biology and Dr. Bhavana Prasher, M.D (Ayurveda), Senior Scientist, Planning & Performance Division, CSIR addressed during the plenary sessions of the conference.Around 450 delegates participated in the conference and total 65 research papers were presented by the young scientists & 140 posters were displayed. Dr. Archana Dutta, Dr. Pataki Baneerjee, Dr. N C Mandal, Dr. K K Ganguli, Dr. N K Maity and other members of Vivekananda Vijnan Mission took great efforts to successfully conduct the conference.

“Urja India”, students’ magazine on energy and environment, a publication of NEED Mission, was released by Dr. kalam on this occasion along with team members of the magazine. It is a quarterly magazine for students in general and others, highlighting the topics on utmost importance along with emerging new technologies, innovation, recent trends and giving practical knowledge about the subject. It will provide a platform for all the required knowledge about energy sector and environmental issues.

NEED Mission have conducted National Level Drawing & Painting Competition for Urja Wahinis (energy clubs) on the occasion of National Energy Conservation Day, 14th Dec 2011. Around 1700 Urja Rakshak’s from 5 states of the country (Maharashtra, West Bengal, Madhya Pradesh, Kerala & Delhi). National level winners were awarded prizes during this function. 1st prize was won by Pooja Jugalkishore Agarwal, Std. 9th, Shree Sharada Mandir Girls High School, Aurangabad, Maharashtra, 2nd prize was shared by Abijith C Ajith, Std. 8th, Bhavan's Vidya Mandir, Eroor, Cochin, Kerala and Sukanya Sudhir Patil, Std. 9th, Shree Sharada Mandir Girls High School Auranghabad, Maharashtra and 3rd prize by Goutam Choudhary, Std. 11th, Dayananda Vidyalaya Higher Secondary School, Asansol, West Bengal. Prizes were awarded by Dr. Vijay Bhatkar and Prof. Avtar Tulsi.

Dr. Kalam inspires the youth

(Excerption from his speech)

Culture of excellence
Friends, you all belong to a student community which should stand for a culture of excellence. And excellence is not by accident. It is a process where an individual (or organization or nation) continuously strives to better oneself. The performance standards are set by themselves, they work on their dreams with focus and are prepared to take calculated risks and do not get deterred by failures as they move towards their dreams. Then they step up their dreams as they tend to reach the original targets. They strive to work to their potential, in the process, they increase their performance thereby multiplying further their potential and this is an unending life cycle phenomenon. They are not in competition with anyone else, but themselves. That is the culture of excellence. I am sure, each one of you will aspire to become unique with culture of excellence.

Kalam inspires the youth

With these words, I inaugurate the Acharya P C Ray National Young Scientists’ Conference. My best wishes to all the participants in their mission of bringing glory to the nation through science.

I learnt, “every youth wants to be unique, that is, YOU! But the world all around you is doing its best, day and night, to make you just “everybody else”…

The challenge, my young friends, is that you have to fight the hardest battle, which any human being can ever imagine to fight; and never stop fighting until you arrive at your destined place, that is, a UNIQUE YOU! Friends what will be your tools to fight this battle, what are they: have a great aim in life, continuously acquire the knowledge, work hard and persevere to realize the great achievement.